BIA - Women in Biotech - Transatlantic

  • Wednesday, 10 March 2021, 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
Share

In celebration of International Women's Day on 8 March, the BIA is delighted to bring you the first transatlantic Women in Biotech event, which they are running in partnership with the US-based organisation Women In Bio.

With their charity partner of the year, Ovarian Cancer Action, they are supporting Ovarian Cancer Awareness month at this Women in Biotech event. Cary Wakefield, CEO of Ovarian Cancer Action, will join them to give a few words at the start of the event. Additionally, they will be donating £10 per ticket sold for the event to Ovarian Cancer Action. 

Laying the foundations for growth through investment in diversity

Whilst VCs in life sciences continue to put management teams that are ‘proven’ or known to them in place rather than backing diverse ones, later investment rounds will demand a broader, more diverse set of thinking to which companies need to adapt in order to attract more mature capital.

These challenges will be discussed with a panel representing a range of different investment stages – from both investor and leadership perspectives - taking in points of view from both sides of the Atlantic and encouraging an interactive discussion around best practice and how we can affect change, asking “how do we encourage investors to back female led/founded companies and diverse leadership teams from company inception?”.

Join up for the inaugural transatlantic Women in Biotech - extend your networks globally, catch up with familiar faces, and help us to make a difference.

Using an interactive virtual platform, everyone will be able to move from virtual table to table similar to at an in-person event. Bring your favourite drink (as best suits your time of day) and join us for this fantastic event with engaging online networking.

Please contact biaevents@bioindustry.org if you have any questions or problems registering for the event.

16:00 GMT / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST  -  Event platform opens
16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST  -  Welcome and introductions
                                                                           Jane Wall, Director of Business Development and Membership Services, BIA
                                                                           Sally Shorthose, Partner, Bird & Bird
                                                                           Lisa Iadicicco, Chief Executive, Women In Bio
                                                                           Cary Wakefield, CEO, Ovarian Cancer Action
16:45 GMT / 11:45 EST / 08:45 PST  -  Panel discussion and Q&A
                                                                          Chair: Karl Simpson, CEO, Liftstream 
                                                                          Ros Deegan, CEO, OMass Therapeutics
                                                                          Jackie Grant, Principal, Abingworth
                                                                          Julie Grant, General Partner, Canaan
                                                                          Annalisa Jenkins, NED
                                                                          Uciane Scarlett, Principal,Oxford Sciences Innovation
17:45 GMT / 12:45 EST / 09:45 PST  -  Closing remarks
17:50 GMT / 12:50 EST / 09:50 PST  -  Networking at the virtual tables
19:00 GMT / 14:00 EST / 11:00 PST  -  Event closes

Find out more from the BIA
Category:

Stevenage Bioscience Catalyst is the UK's leading open innovation campus with a focus on therapeutics.

Learn more

We use cookies to improve our site experience. Press accept to agree to our Cookie Policy. If you decline, your information won’t be tracked when you visit this website. A single cookie will be used in your browser to remember your preference not to be tracked.